Low Sodium Recipes Links To Heart Helpers Low Sodium Products About Sodium Testimonials No Salt Cookbook Megaheart Newsletter









"Your book saved my husband's life."


DEFINING VEGETARIANS

Vegetarians fall into the groups shown below. Definitions are based on the annimal-derived foods they eat or more importantly don't eat. We are building a new section for vegetarians. Our recipes will later be rated for type of vegetarian, and for Carb Choices for diabetics. Please check back every few weeks for updates.

Vegans
Vegans eat only plant-based foods. None of their food is animal based including meat, poultry, fish, milk, eggs and cheese.

Lacto-vegetarians
Lacto-vegetarians do accept milk and milk products along with plant-based foods. They do not eat eggs or meat, fish and poultry.

Lacto-ovo
Lacto-ovo vegetarians consume eggs, milk and milk products, such as cheese and yogurt, in addition to plant-based foods. They do not eat red meat, fish and poultry.

Flexitarians
Flexitarians (semivegetarians) basically follow a plant-based diet but sometimes consume small amounts of meat, poultry or fish.